I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Disaster Reserve Assistance

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department of Agriculture , Farm Service Agency
CFDA #: 10.452

Who is eligible to apply...

Applicants must meet all of the following conditions as determined by the approving official: (1) May not have total annual gross revenue in excess of $2.5 million; (2) be actively engaged in farming with at least 10 percent of gross revenue derived from the production of grain or livestock; (3) must have suffered a 40 percent or greater loss of normal feed production on the farm; and (4) have insufficient feed available for eligible livestock for the duration of the emergency; and (5) applicants eligible to receive program benefits under more than one program administered by the Secretary for the same crop loss must choose whether to receive other program benefits or disaster reserve assistance benefits. Applicants are not eligible for both. Basic program eligibility requirements include: (1) For the Disaster Reserve Assistance Program, crop losses in areas that have suffered a 40 percent or greater loss of normal grazing, and feed grain and forage production, and determined to be in a livestock feed emergency due to a natural disaster; (2) for the Emergency Feed Grain Donation Program: (a) the State committee must determine and document a livestock feed emergency on a county-by-county basis, when the danger of eligible livestock perishing as a result of snow and freezing conditions exists in the county, (b) the livestock owner, or other person or entities (public or private) certify that the eligible livestock were or are in danger of perishing without immediate assistance; and (3) the Foundation Livestock Relief (Cost-Share) Program: (a) when foundation livestock are stranded and in imminent danger of perishing, and (b) when the State committee determines and documents livestock losses due to severe weather conditions.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Applicants must certify: (1) Ownership of livestock, feed loss, and feed available, (2) that annual gross revenue is not in excess of $2.5 million, (3) derives at least 10 percent of gross revenue from the production of grain and livestock. Applicants must also be an established producer or husbandry of livestock or a dairy producer who is: (1) Actively engaged in farming; (2) a citizen of, or legal resident alien in the United States; (3) a farm cooperative, private domestic corporation, partnership, or joint operation in which a majority interest is held by the members, stockholders, or partners who are citizens of, or legal resident aliens of the United States; (4) any Indian tribe or tribal organization of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act; and (5) any organization under the Indian Reorganization Act or Financing Act.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.